top of page
Search
  • collette

Vegan Almond Butter Energy balls

Happy Friday everyone, and Happy VE Day!


I hope that you're all keeping safe (and not too bored) during lockdown. It's a real shame that as soon as we're not allowed to go out as much, the sun starts shining! Typical UK hey? But I hope you've all be making use of your hour outside (or slightly longer... oops) by going for a walk/ run/ bike ride somewhere nice. We're very lucky to have a lake which is a 10 minute walk from my house which I run round a few days a week. What makes this even better is the fact that one of the Geese has had some Gorgeous Goslings which are super cute to look at, but dont get too close because believe me, Geese can be supeeeerrr protective Mamas!


On a whole I've mainly been going for runs to keep myself occupied, I would walk my dog however he is absolutley crazy... No seriously, CRAZY! He barks, cries, pulls, Jumps at other dogs, cars, cats, Anything that crosses paths with him really. Being a rescue dog we've just accepted the idea that my doggo doesnt like being out of his comfort zone which is home, and prefers to be a house dog. Yes, a house dog, its a thing (Or at least it is in Boby's case), although we're lucky enough to have a big garden that he can run around in to get some exercise, otherwise he really would be a Chonk!


However, that being said, my mum has bought him a special yellow lead which has "anxious dog" written on it, something that i didnt know was an acctual thing until today. I think she's hoping that this will warn people that he gets frightened of other dogs... Although it will be a mission and a half trying to walk him, Good luck Mum!


Anyway, enough talking about Lakes, Goslings and over anxious dogs and on with today's post...


I tried out a completely new recipie, something I HATE doing but am forcing myself to do more of, however I was pleasantly surprised by how easy and cheap it was! I'm always flicking through recipie books for inspiration, something quick, easy and cheap, because I am the defentition of a lazy cook. So for all my Lazy cooks out there this recipie is for you.




If youre looking for a quick snack but want something that isnt over processed and filled with sugar, then give these Vegan Almond Butter energy Balls a try. All you will need is the following:


-2 large Bananas

-Almond (Or Peanut) Butter

-Rolled Oats

-Chia Seeds

-Chocolate chips (Use dark chocolate for a vegan option)

-Sunflower Seeds


Optional Extras:

-Rasins

-Dried Cranberries

-Pumpkin Seeds

-Any seeds really....


If I told you all you had to do was mix that all up, roll it into balls, leave it in the fridge for a few hours and you're done would you believe me? ... Well you should!


Steps:


1) Start by mashing the two bananas up in a bowl, then add 4 large teaspoons of almond butter and mix them together.


1) Once Mixed thoroughly add the oats. How much you add is completely optional, however I added just over half a pint glass (great measurements, I know right?) and mixed until the mixture was a thick consistency.


3) Then all you have to do is add how much or how little you want of the other ingridients. I added around 4 tsps of Chia Seeds, a handful of Sunflower seeds and a WHOLE LOAD of dark choc chips, because choccy is life... But how much you add is completely up to you. You can also change up what you add to these and try different ingridients, just make sure you include the bananas, nut butter and oats to bind it all together.


4) Once mixed together, simply roll the mixture into balls (mine made made about 14) and leave them in the fridge until solid.





SIMPLE. AS. THAT. When I said this was one for my fellow lazy cooks, I really did mean it...


Wanna know what else is great about these snacks? ... They're super healthy!


Chia Seeds are a fantastic source of Omega-3 Fatty Acids (To assist Heart Health), Iron, Calcium and Fibre, Whilst Sunflower Seeds are a good source of Phosphorus (Needed for the body to produce Protein to help the growth and repair of the Cells and Tissues), magnesium, iron, calcium, potassium, protein and vitamin E.


If you give this recipie a go please do share your results with me,as i'd love to see! My ones look a bit more like mounds rather than balls, but i'm sure you guys could do better!


Please give this post a like and a share, and I'll be back soon for my next post!


Stay safe, and enjoy the rest of VE Day.


Lots of love,

Collette x




14 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page